The Three Jewels: The Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha

with Charlotte Brodie

March 7th—March 21st

Date details +
  • $75 Full Price
  • $108 Patron Price
  • $25 Repeater Price

What does it mean to become a Buddhist?

In this three part course, one is introduced to the basic Buddhist principles of the Three Jewels - the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha - the three enlightened principles in which Buddhists take refuge.

The Refuge Vow marks the decision to commit oneself wholeheartedly to the Buddhist path and to further one’s practice and training. It is the formal commitment to being a Buddhist, following the example of the Buddha Shakyamuni (Buddha), his teachings (Dharma) and joining the community (Sangha) of fellow practitioners.

Whether you are interested in formally becoming a Buddhist, or simply interested in learning about it, or if you are a Buddhist who would like to refresh your practice and studies, please join us in exploring this rich topic.

NOTE: This course is a prerequisite for anyone who wants to take the formal Refuge Vow, which is planned to occur on Sunday, April 7th, 2019 at the Burlington Shambhala Center. If you intend to take the vow, you will also need to register for the ceremony (more information to be announced).